Binge-watch Geoffrey Whitehead as Sherlock Holmes 23 Full Episodes

geoffrey whitehead as sherlock holmes
80 / 100

This Geoffrey Whitehead as Sherlock Holmes Playlist consists of 23 out of the 24 full-length episodes of the 1979 Television series Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson.

This series is very watchable. Donald Pickering‘s Dr Watson is more intelligent even though he still doesn’t get most of the deductions. Geoffrey Whitehead‘s Sherlock is less edgy and looks like the consummate gentleman. He may not be my favourite Holmes’ actor but he is not bad. Patrick Newell‘s Inspector Lestrade is also likeable. I like the comic interactions between the 3 characters in many of the episodes.

Some of the episodes are the same as Ronald Howard’s series since the producer is the same person, Sheldon Reynolds.

The audio and visual quality of most of the episodes is not great. I have tried to find the ones with a full episode in a single clip as well as those with the correct aspect ratio.

Episode 1 – A Motive for Murder

It was a pleasant surprise to see a fairly young Julian Fellowes (creator, executive producer and writer of Downtown Abbey) in this episode. He appears again in Episode 8, A Case of High Security.

Episode 2 – The Case of the Speckled Band

Episode 3 – Murder on a Midsummer’s Eve

Episode 4 – Four Minus Four is One

A dead man is found hanging from a street lamp; but hanging wasn’t the cause of death. What is going on? A curse or pre-meditated murder?

Episode 5 – The Case of the Perfect Crime

Episode 6 – The Case of Harry Rigby

Episode 7 – The Case of the Blind Man’s Bluff

Episode 8 – A Case of High Security

Episode 9 – The Case of Harry Crocker

Episode 10 – The Case of the Deadly Prophecy

Episode 11 – The Case of the Baker Street Nursemaids

Episode 12 – The Case of the Purloined Letter

Also known as An Evening with Lord Brompton. Adapted from a story by Edgar Allan Poe. I wonder why borrowing from Edgar Allan Poe was necessary.

Episode 13 – The Case of the Travelling Killer

Episode 14 – The Case of the Sitting Target

Episode 15 – The Case of the Final Curtain

Episode 16 – The Case of the Three Uncles

Episode 17 – The Case of the Body in the Case

Episode 18 – The Case of the Deadly Tower

Episode 19 – The Case of Smith & Smythe

Episode 20 – The Case of the Luckless Gambler

Episode 21 – The Case of the Shrunken Heads

Episode 22 – The Case of Magruder’s Millions

Episode 23 – The Case of the Other Ghost

Unavailable at the moment.

Episode 24 – The Case of the Close-Knit Family

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *