Watch The Inspector Dalgliesh TV Series Free – 12 films In Order of Publication

inspector dalgliesh
78 / 100

Looking for Inspector Dalgliesh full episodes to binge-watch? This playlist includes 12 dramatizations of the 14 published stories. Dalgliesh was played by Roy Marsden in 10 and Martin Shaw was in 2.

The first Inspector Dalgliesh drama I watched was “The Murder Room” with Martin Shaw playing Adam Dalgliesh. I thought it was wonderful and found “Death in Holy Orders“. Then, I discovered the 1980s/90s TV series with Roy Marsden playing Adam Dalgliesh.

Growing up, I had never heard of PD James, the author who created Dalgliesh and wrote 14 crime mystery stories involving him. So she was a late discovery for me.

It was a pleasant surprise to find 12 of the 14 stories adapted for television and available on Youtube. The Lighthouse and The Private Patient have not been dramatized.

The playlist is organised according to the Adam Dalgliesh books in order of publication dates and not when the TV dramatization was released.

1. Cover Her Face – Roy Marsden as Adam Dalgliesh

Chief Superintendent Adam Dalgliesh investigates the death of Alice Liddell who ran a home for unwed mothers. One of those residents is Sally Jupp who was a witness in a drugs smuggling and murder investigation in London. Sally works at the local manor house for the Maxies and it is apparent that eldest son Stephen has more than just a passing interest in her. The night after they announce their engagement, Sally is found strangled in her bed. The question is whether her death is related to the London investigation or a completely different reason altogether. Her engagement created a good deal of ill-feeling among the Maxies and several guests in the house with any one of them having a motive to kill her.

2. A Mind to Murder – Roy Marsden

Inspector Dalgliesh investigates the murder of the Director of the Steen Clinic, which specializes in psychiatric cases. There is a number of possible suspects and as Dalgliesh is fond to say, the motive for murder is inevitably greed or love.

3. Unnatural Causes – Roy Marsden

4. Shroud for a Nightingale – Roy Marsden

5. The Black Tower – Roy Marsden

6. Death of an Expert Witness – Roy Marsden

7. A Taste for Death

Episode 5 –

8. Devices and Desires

9. Original Sin

10. A Certain Justice

Episode 3 –

11. Death in Holy Orders – Martin Shaw as Adam Dalgliesh

12. The Murder Room – Martin Shaw as Adam Dalgliesh

Read Inspector Dalgliesh Mysteries

At Amazon

At a library –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *